First BIRCHBOX of the year! (2016)

Hey guys👋🏽

Oopsie not 10am as scheduled but here it is! Sowieee🙈

If you remember I posted a little vid not so long ago, giving you a sneak peek into the 2016 BIRCHBOX! This time, I bring you the full product lowdown. So sit back, relax and birchhh!😁

Now this year’s motto is ‘Best Year Ever!’ I like it! Goes will all the New Year, new me vibe! And with feeling like pantsy poo for about three weeks now (Cold virus booo!) I defo need to feel the ‘Best Year Ever!’ Vibe🙁

  
The Birchbox team have used inspo from Pinterest to create this months box. They’ve sourced out beauty products that  will kick start your 2016 beauty routine! So here are this months beauties👄

Benefit Cosmetics – They’re Real Tinted Primer £18.50

Benefit Cosmetics founded in San Francisco in 1976 by twins Jean and Jane Ford. The company started as a small beauty boutique for ‘quick fix beauty dilemmas’. Benefit Cosmetics is now a global beauty brand now selling at over 2,000 counters, in more than 30 countries!

Now I am a huge fan of Benefit cosmetics as I find the packaging and products quite quirky. Their products always have the elements of GIRL POWER! 👊🏽 

I love their ‘They’re Real mascara’ in fact over time, I have purchased it at least three times! The flexible wand, pigment and the big roller ball at the end of the wand really make my lashes stand out (like va va voom! Not va va bleurgh😂) So it would be no surprise to say that I really did like this primer! 

This products wand is the same as the ‘They’re Real Mascara’ (hence the same name and packaging) The pigment is dark brown but it’s priced only a pound less than the mascara. The sample is a decent size product and I have been using it more at the weekends when I want a bit more oomph! It has been marketed as a tinted eyelash primer (so something you use before your fave mascara)

Now I like the product but I don’t love it, as I’m not sure it does anything special? When I do my lashes, I have always used a  mascara that will separate and ‘push’ the lashes up first (curler included) then my normal mascara. To do this step I have  always used my trusty Bourjois Black kohl mascara, which is heaps cheaper than the tinted lash primer! 

  
(Image not my own)

Would I repurchase? mmmm no because they’re are similar mascaras out there that will do the same for you and I have heard of better priming mascaras (such as Estée Lauder) who can really amp your lashes. Have you tried the tinted lash primer? If yes, what did you think?

  
https://www.benefitcosmetics.com

Rituals – Rice Scrub £10

‘In the year 2000 founder Raymond Cloosterman started his adventure from a deeply rooted passion: “I passionately believe that we can transform our daily routines into more meaningful moments if we pay just a little bit more attention to the details. This philosophy led to a unique concept of combining home and body cosmetics, and this is how RITUALSWas born with a luxurious collection of high quality products to enrich body and soul we offer anything from body and facial care to scented candles, clothing, perfumes, gemstone make-up, and tea’ -Raymond Cloosterman founder of Rituals Cosmetics (excerpt from website)

Now I am not going to into a lot of deets about the company Rituals as there seems to be a sample from this company every month!😴

So far I have to admit I have not liked any of the Rituals samples so far but this one is lovely. I have uber sensitive skin, so this gentle, creamy, foamy exfoliater hits the right spot! I’ve used it twice already and my skin feels super silky and soft.

  
Will I repurchase a full size? Yes! Because I do like how it makes my skin feel and I do need a good body exfoliater for once/twice a week👍🏽

uk.rituals.com/‎

Eyeko – Fat Liner £12 (full size!)

‘Established in 1999 Eyeko is the bespoke cosmetics label, devised by makeup veterans and partners Max and Nina Leykind, created for your eyes only. Favoured by stars and celebrities Jennifer Lawrence, Salma Hayek, Clara Paget and Gemma Arterton all adore the range’s internationally stocked, innovative products and critically acclaimed makeup artists Lisa Eldridge, Polly Osmond and Kay Montano all use Eyeko in their kit’ (Taken from Eyeko’s website)

Now if you have been following me long enough, you will know that I’m a massive winged liner gal! I’ve been wearing winged liner since I was 19, so you could say I’m a winged liner pro🙈

I prefer to use products that have a flexible nib (such as a brush variety) and a really matte, dark black finish. So you can already sense what I am going to say, I DON’T LIKE PEN STYLE LINERS! There I said it 😞 but no disrespect to this eyeko product it is beautiful, honestly. It’s pigmented, goes on well and lasts well. However I have hooded eyelids and when I apply my top liner, I tend to have my eyes open, I don’t stretch the skin (I never have done and it’s not my technique) hence pens are so much harder for me to control! (No flexibility in the nib either grrr) 

I was happy that, I received a full size sample but the thickness of the pen made it difficult for me to do a thinner line. Now I have also tried the thin eyeko pen from a magazine sample and I wasn’t too keen on that pen variety either. So it’s easy to say pens are not for me and I will be giving this away to one of my siblings😞

  

  
https://www.eyeko.com 

Beauty Protector – Detangle and Protect £14

There isn’t really much info about this brand on the net and I’m sure I have mentioned that in my previous Birchbox reviews. They do seem to have an online shop with Birchbox themselves so you can purchase all their items via Birchbox.

We do seem to get a lot of generous sized, Beauty Protector samples in our UK birchboxes which means lots of exclusives with this brand! This time it is a hair product (better than the usual shower gels!) This product is lovely and does as it says, it de tangles and makes your hair feel lovely and soft. You just spritz all over damp hair and style as usual. The product protects your hair from heat styling and uv rays, no wonder it is a best seller on the Birchbox website! 

  
Would I repurchase? For the sake of just purchasing online? no there are similar products that can do the same from the drugstore and also I am quite happy with my Argan oil before I style my hair.

Absolution – L’eau Soir et Matin £27

‘Because we are looking for the right balance between eco-conscious and urban lifestyle because we are concerned with our image, our well-being and the protection of the planet, attracted by organic certified products but not willing to give up pleasure, because we always want more results and more efficiency…A shorter range of products, more simplicity, highly organic certified skincare that are customizable to the different skin’s moods, each day as it comes… for men and for women’ (excerpt from their website)

Now I am not someone who changes up their skincare products on a regular basis. Having uber sensitive skin, I tend to stick to my holy grail products DERMALOGICA! But this product swayed me as it said ‘certified organic’ and I love natural products, so I tried it! I used the product as suggested, dampened some cotton wool and swiped it like a cleanser over my face. However since I wear a lot of makeup I always use do a double cleanse so I literally just ended up using this like a toner and to take off any last traces of makeup off!

  
The product smells nice and fresh, it’s cooling and does a lovely job as a cleanser. But it did struggle to remove my mascara and just made my eyes sting just a little bit. Overall the product didn’t irritate me or break me out (bonus). 

Would I repurchase? Not at £27! And I am quite happy with my skincare so I don’t feel that I need a change. However if you are looking for a natural cleanser this is a lovely one.

www.absolution-cosmetics.com

And finally some Birchbox treats! 

  
A cute little mirror that slips easily into your handbag and I love the #nofilter at the back of it! There was also some postcards thrown with mottos like ‘put on your lipstick and hustle!’ Love it lol, to really get your New Year rocking!

Overall I would not say it was not a bad box to start the new year off with and Birchbox always sources out new and cool brands but I am still going to say, more makeup please Birchbox👍🏽

For more BIRCHBOX deets go to birchbox.co.uk 

….❤️ Sabina

9 thoughts on “First BIRCHBOX of the year! (2016)

Leave a Reply

