A blog post ABOUT a blog😝

Hey guys!

This post has been a long time coming! I should have had it up at the beginning of my blog but I just assumed everyone knew what a blog was! lol but never mind here goes…..

On sooo many occasions I have been asked, what is a blog? And why do you call yourself a blogger? And do you make any money? If not why do you do it? 

Now living in the 21st century I thought blogging was a very common and done thing! But how wrong was I? So in this post I am going to share with you, what I think a blog and a blogger is anndddd if I earn truck loads of money lol.

Let’s start with the most popular one that my family and friends constantly ask me about! 

What Is a Blog?

A web and a log, two words that consists of people publicising their passions and interests on a platform that allows them to log and post on the World Wide Web! As more and more web logs developed the  word synchronisedthe word web log, into blog!

If you google search ‘what is a blog’ there are various definitions.

  

And this definition sums it up quite well. A blog is just like a regularly updated version of your fave magazine or newspaper! Usually a ‘blogger’ (will get into that definition bit next don’t worry😉) may post an ‘article’ like post on something they have a passion about. This could be anything the blogger has an interest in such as, I have an affinity for fashion, beauty and lifestyle. So most of my posts are based on make up reviews, fashion trends, recipes, book reviews or make up tutorials. 

Some may even post ‘diary style’ entries or a journal. This could range from everyday life, work, education or whatever they desire!

There are many different blogs out there, blogs about music, art, philosophy, travel and many more! To access a blog you can click on the bloggers link or google search a particular product or post you are after and any similar searches will link you to different blog sites!

You don’t have to blog on a blogging platform (such as WordPress or Blogger) there are so many different ones out there! For example Instagram blogs, tumblr, Facebook, and many other smaller ones like Niume, Twitter or video blogs (vlogging).

However the beauty of blogging on a blogging platform is that you can read your statistics on how well your blog is doing, you are able to add content at your own will and the best thing is, you are able to connect with other readers and fellow bloggers that have similar passions. Also the statistics on a blogging platform can allow brands to see what consumers your blog is reaching out to.

Why am I called a Blogger?

Simple really, a person who manages their site and creates their own posts on a blog is called a blogger. Comprende? Good👍🏽

A blogger can consist of one writer or a group of writers. A blogger usually writes about their own experiences, thoughts or opnions. A blogger will also have images maybe videos and links to other sites. This helps create a visual image of what something may look like. Site links allow you to purchase the item directly from those ‘hyperlinked’ sites. For example if you check out my POLYVORE posts it will show you hyperlinks (highlighted links in blue) if you click on there it will take you directly to the sellers site!😀

So do I make Truckloads of Money?!

There are roughly around 1.13 million blogs around the world. That’s huge right? But you will also be shocked to hear that not all of them make money. 

There was a time when blogs were a rarity and bloggers actually got paid a good amount of money but now it’s so competitive that brands have many to choose from. But to be honest when I first went into blogging it wasn’t for the money. I have a huge passion for writing and actually love it! 

But since my blogs have become popular I have had the odd chance of being invited to blogger events, brand discounts and endorsing brands. However they have been unpaid and I am not complaining😄

It’s nice to know that whatever I’m writing is being recognised and enjoyed by all! The blogging community is a great place to be in. The people are great, good advice and everyone always welcomes you with open arms. It has been the same for me on Instagram, Twitter, snapchat, Facebook or even Pinterest! (thank you so much😘)

You must remember Blogging is also quite a full time job! It’s not easy maintaining quality content whilst teaching and looking after a family (but I’m not complaining, honest) Some bloggers have done it for years and not seen large amounts of money and some have not been blogging for long and are earning large sums of money. Sometimes I think it just depends on how your content is recognised and being at the right place and time. But I would like to say please don’t be disheartened if your blog does not kick off! If you value it and maintain it passionately (regardless of how many times you post as some peeps think posting more than once gives you better coverage! However I prefer quality over quantity!) you will reap the fruit of success (I can guarantee that) whether it’s paid or not!

So that question – do I earn truckloads of money? No! But in the future I may be able to earn some, however it is not a priority for me as I teach part time and have a full time family to look after😀 So for me I will continue with my passion and see where this road goes.

And that wraps up my post! If you have anymore questions about blogging, please do not hesitate to ask me! 

I would love to know what you guys think about blogging? What are your thoughts? Do you enjoy it? What are your thoughts on brand endorsements? Are you blogging to earn money, as your full time occupation? Why do you blog? Speak to me and let me know! Until next time……

  
 
….❤️Sabina

2 thoughts on “A blog post ABOUT a blog😝

Leave a Reply

