💋 Dark lips (with a splash of red!) 💋

image

There’s something about a dark lip, in the Autumn/Winter season. The cold, windy and dark nights make it perfect for these shades. In this post I will show you, how you can own these shades in A/W 2015 (without feeling like it’s Halloween everyday 😂 ) So what are you waiting for? pucker up buttercup! 👄

Before I start I must apologise for the camera quality. As we approach Winter in the United Kingdom, there is less and less daylight. So many of my pics have been taken with a flash, with an exception of one or two (sowiee). I have also tried very hard to use no filters in my pics, so you can gauge a true colour.

I never ever pair my lippie without a lipliner! For me it is staple in my makeup routine. For a dark lip, I feel that it is important to line them as that will stop the colour from bleeding and really amp the colour of your lipstick! So let me show you a few of my fave Dark Lips ☺

Look 1

image

I have used no filter in this pic but have just adjusted the sharpness so you can see clearly.

I love this lipstick by Rimmel! A British manufactured brand that is now owned by Coty Inc (owners of Calvin Klein, Philosophy and many more!)

The hue of this lipstick looks slightly pinky in this pic but I assure you it is not! It is actually a deep maroon. It is from one of their supermodel Kate Moss’ s collection. The lipstick shade is ‘107’ and paired with the above lipliner from Topshop (shade-deception), it is beautiful!

Both the consistency of the liner and lippie is creamy with a matte finish. Both are budget friendly and are long lasting!

image

Rimmel is available in over 40 countries worldwide but I am pretty sure both brands ship internationally.

Rimmel by Kate Moss (shade -107) £5.49
Topshop LipLiner (shade -Deception) £5.00

Look 2

Now I know my next one is not really a dark lip colour but it is worth a mention as no season is complete without it! You must own this one, if not I would be very surprised.

This Mac red colour is a very blue – based red (which means your teeth will look pearly white, promise) can you guess which red it is? Yes! The very popular Ruby woo!

I never use to wear red but this one changed my life! I love it! It’s the most perfect red for me (NC42, actually scratch that! any skin tone will love this!) As you can tell by my tube, I’m due a restock on this colour!

image

I pair this with my Mac Lip liner in ‘Brick’ and I have to admit, it looks fab all year round! The formula is super matte, so pls prep lips before applying!

If your looking to go into reds, this is the one guys!

Mac Retro Matte (shade -ruby woo) £15.50
Mac LipLiner  (shade- brick) £12.50

Look 3

image

Defo one of Mac’s ‘dark’ lip colours. The lippie is not far off from the Rimmel one but It has a more deeper, burgundy base.

Another matte formula but not as drying than the ruby woo! Have you ever tried the Barry M lipliners? They are sooo affordable and I have them in many colours. The quality of them is pretty fab too!

I have paired the Barry M with Mac ‘darkside’ as it brings out the depths of the burgundy even more! A hot smokey eye or a classic wing, looks uber sexy with this lip combo!

image

Mac (shade -darkside) £15.50
Barry M Lipliner (shade -number 7 £2.99)

Look 4

Ever thought about wearing a dark brown? It looks very unique and suprisingly quite flattering actually.

For this look, I paired Mac ‘cork’ with Bourjois ‘beau brun’ lip creams. (full review of the lip creams, on my blog!)

image

This colour looks fantastic especially against the Autumnal leaves. Be sure to fill out the whole of the lips lightly with the ‘cork’ lipliner and then finish with the lip cream.

image

Mac lipliner (shade -cork) £12.50
Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lip Cream  (shade -beau brun)  £8.99

And for you all you glossy babes out there why not try out these lip glosses, for a more vibrant and slicker finish?

image

Mac Cremesheen Lip Glass (shade- unknown! Oops) sorry do not know the price as it came in a Limited Edition Christmas box! (but a good dupe would be Makeup Revolution’s lip lacquers. Check them out at your local drugstores Prices vary between £3.99-£4.99)

image

Sainsbury Boutique Lip Gloss (shade -Don’t gloss me around ) £6.00

Sainsbury is very similar to Walmart and the quality of this lip gloss is amazing. It is Sainsbury’s own brand, so if you live in the UK you won’t have a problem locating this.

The lip gloss is very pigmented and will look fab with the ‘ruby woo’. Again if this is not available near you, try a vibrant red lip gloss that suits you.

Obviously all the lip combos chosen are my faves but that does not mean you can’t have a go! Try it and if you want to mix things up, go for it! Remember in makeup there are no rules, experiment and have fun! I love mixing up more than two colours sometimes and I’m always surprised at the outcome 🙂

image

* please note all the products mentioned are my own and have been purchased with my hard earned cash 👍 *

Hope you enjoyed my Dark lips, blog post! If you have any fave dark lips, lip colours I would love to know! Even better, tag me in your insta pics using #GlitterGlosGlo 😘 !

For full ingredients listing and info check out 👇

m.maccosmetics.co.uk

http://www.barrym.com

www.j-sainsbury.co.uk

m.topshop.com

rimmellondon.com

Bourjois.co.uk

Happy Reading X

12 thoughts on “💋 Dark lips (with a splash of red!) 💋

Leave a Reply

