🍲Spicy and All things nice! (Easiest curry base like ever!)🍲

Who loves a curry? Meee 😆 In this post I show you how to make a super easy curry base for nearly all Indian curries! With less than probably 5/6 ingredients 😉 Pinnies and spices at the ready then!

The History of Curry!

image

The origins of the word curry stems from the Tamil word ‘kari’ which means a thin, spiced, soup like sauce. The word curry was probably adopted by the British which is simply now understood as a spicy gravy! Curries probably first originated in India and was brought into the UK by the British Raj.

With around 9,000 Indian, Pakistani and Bangladeshi restaurants it is no surprise that Curry is one of the top foods on the British menu! :mrgreen:

Obviously with all these different regions, cultures and family backgrounds the cooking of a curry can vary! So here is my version that was taught to me by my cute, helpful daddy 🙂

You will need

Step 1- 5 large onions or 8 small ones (red or white)

image

Step 2- Cut in half and thinly slice them like below. I know this is a mammoth task! And you’ll probably have gone through a box of tissues by then haha but the more onions you put into a curry, the more it thickens the ‘gravy like sauce’ (sowiee)

image

Step 3- Dried spices such as 2 bay leaves, 4 peppercorns, 4 cloves, 3 cardamom pods, 1 star anise and 1 large cinnamon stick broken in half (these all should be available at your local supermarkets or local indian grocery stores)

image

Step 4- Heat around 5/10 tablespoons of your chosen oil that you usually cook with in a pan (sunflower, vegetable or olive oil)

image

Obviously I’m Indian so my cooking pots are quite large 😂 When you have heated the oil for a few secs add the dried spices and cook them in the oil for about 30 secs. Now I usually leave the spices in my dish as they flavour the oil and curry but if you want to remove them before we add the onions,then please do.

image

Step 5- Add the sliced onions to the oil and spices and cook them on a medium heat, till a light golden brown.

image

Pls don’t burn them! As they will make your curry taste bitter 👎 so do keep on checking them and stirring.

image

Step 6- Then add your chosen chicken, meat or veg. I have added here roughly around 1kg (feeds a family of four) Sorry the chicken pieces are rather large in my curries as that’s how I usually have them 🙈 (on the bone and boneless pieces) You can have them however you want. Cook through your chosen chicken, meat or veg on a medium to a low heat.

image

Step 7- Into that then add half a can of tinned tomatoes  and a teaspoon of tomato puree and cook for about 5 mins, on the same heat as above.

image

Step 8- Then add your chosen spices! Now everybody varies, I do not like it too spicy 😝 In mine I have added a combo of green chillies, crushed garlic, crushed ginger, some tumeric, garam masala and coriander and cumin powder (available at your local supermarkets)

Cook the spices on a low heat for about 3/5 mins checking and stirring. Then add some water (roughly two large mugfuls) into this mixture cover and cook on a medium heat, until you see that the sauce thickens and reduces.

image

Add chopped coriander as a garnish and ta-da your curry is now ready to be eaten! (Yum yum) You can serve with rice, chappatis, naan bread or pitta breads!

In this post I have shown you all the steps of my curry but it is literally steps 1-6 that is the core curry base for nearly all my curries that I cook! Now I know I haven’t gone into much deets of how much of the spices (step 8) I’ve put in (like measurements) because I wanted to focus more on the base of the curry. But if you would like to know more, email me on skhalifas@hotmail.co.uk or comment down below and I will be more specific. If you can get the onions just right then I promise you, you will be onto a winner 😉

Enjoy your Saturday my loves! Catch you tomorrow for the OOTD post (I’m off to a wedding and all this food talk is making me hungry lol Ciao!)

Happy Reading X

11 thoughts on “🍲Spicy and All things nice! (Easiest curry base like ever!)🍲

  1. Thank you for the recipe! This is interesting since I usually cook curry (Japanese or Indian version) using spice powder. I have never tried the real whole spices version. I suppose I can find most but I have never seen peppercorns or cardamom pods.
    Someday I will try your recipe. I don’t like chicken these days I might try with tofu and vegetables.
    Which vegetable do you recommend for Indian style curry?

    -Naomi-

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

