Going back to my roots…Indian cooking โ˜บ

It’s Saturday nite, fancy an Indian? Then read on for my family’s fave… Chilli Paneer recipe! Nom nom ๐Ÿ˜œ

I am proud of my culture and heritage so obviously I lurrveee indian food! I have to admit though, I am not a massive fan of cooking and don’t have a lot of patience ๐Ÿ˜… But what I do love is experimenting with new ingredients and flavours.

Coming from a large family and being the eldest, I learnt to cook from a very early age. I can’t say I’m amazing! But my food sure is edible and tasty ๐Ÿ˜‰ (ask my hubby, honest).

In this post I will share with you one of my family’s favourite dish, Chilli Paneer! Every time we go out at an Indian restaurant, we always order a paneer dish, we love it!

Paneer? What is paneer I hear you say? (Paneer pronounced as Pa – neer). Well it’s a little like cheese really. Not a soft one but very similar in texture to a very firm tofu. This indian cheese is flavour less but as it cooks, it absorbs the spices, yes just like the tofu!

Paneer originates from Middle East and India. It’s main base is usually Buffalo milk but nowadays it can be made with Cows milk as well. Paneer can be quite pricey and was usually seen in dishes created for the Moghul empire or Royals and was reffered to as ‘golden nuggets’! But now it is widely available and can be quite affordableย (depending on how much you buy per kilo).

When I usually purchase paneer, I usually buy the pre packed and cubed one. It’s easier this way, as paneer can be quite hard to cut! And the pre packed cubed version already comes in a 500 grams and that is exactly what this recipe required ๐Ÿ˜‰ (I love short cuts! Haha)

image

(Just like this one!)

Now the recipe I am going to share with you was given to me by my very dear friend Sabina Salah (I love the fact that me and her have the same name! Highfive Sabinas lol) Aw man she makes some amazing food! (Check out her Facebook SABINA SALAH and Instagram subbly_bubbly) and when she throws a recipe it’s like gold dust! Honestly check it out!

Right enough of this blah blah and let’s crack on with the recipe!

YOU WILL NEED
500 Grams Cubed Paneer (see pic above!)
4 Tbsp Cornflour
10 Pieces of fresh green chillies
2 Tbsp Tomato Ketchup
1 Tbsp Chilli Sauce
2 Tbsp Soya Sauce
1 Green Pepper (chopped)
4 Onions (chopped)
1 Tbsp oil for cooking the onions in and Oil for deep frying
Salt to taste
Chopped coriander to garnish

METHOD

1. Mix cubed Paneer with the cornflour in a bowl so that they are well coated.
2. Deep fry the Paneer in a large wok or a deep fryer. Until it is nice and golden in colour (check pic ๐Ÿ‘‡ )

image

3. In a separate non stick fry pan, add 1 Tbsp of oil and fry the onions till a nice brown (not burnt! Please ๐Ÿ˜…).

image

(Browned onions pic โ˜ ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

4. Next add the chopped chillies to the onions and the chopped peppers. Fry them for about 2-3 mins.
5. Add the fried Paneer to the onion, chillies and pepper. Also add in the tomato, chilli and soya sauce. Put your desired salt and then stir all for 3-4 mins.
6. At the end garnish with coriander! And drum roll please, Chilli Paneer is now ready to be served! Simples :mrgreen:

image

You can serve this dish with plain noodles, rice or any type of indian bread! In fact you can honestly eat it on it’s own and it is sooo yummy!

Now when I made it, I found that it was quite spicy for us! (I know, I am soo not a true Indian ๐Ÿ˜‚). So next time I will be adding only 5 chillies! ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™Š Depending on how spicy you like your curries, please adjustย  the amount of chillies you add ๐Ÿ˜‰

I also understand that some ingredients are known differently in some countries for example in India peppers are known as capsicums. So if you need any more deets please ask me or the lovely Sabina Salah (she doesn’t bite promise!)

Also I forgot to mention that, this recipe is fab for vegetarians! as there is no meat involved at all ๐Ÿ‘ (Don’t fret my lovely meat eaters will have one up for you soon ๐Ÿ˜„)

If you do try the recipe pls tag me! I would love that! and let me know how you get on. Do you have a fave Indian curry? And does anyone have a recipe they would like to share? (Doesn’t have to be Indian at all!) If yes pls do share them down below ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Reading X

4 thoughts on “Going back to my roots…Indian cooking โ˜บ

Leave a Reply

